Home Page

Daisyfield Primary School

Dream, Believe, Achieve

  • Search
  • Translate


Early Years Foundation Stage


In EYFS we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework 2021, which we teach through the use of the Daisyfield Dimensions Curriculum approach. 

The EYFS learning and development requirements comprise:

  • The seven areas of learning and development and the educational programmes. 
  • The early learning goals, which summarise the knowledge, skills and understanding that all young children should have gained by the end of the Reception year.  
  • The assessment requirements
  • The safeguarding and welfare requirements to keep children safe and promote their welfare.

There are seven areas of learning and development that shape educational programmes at Daisyfield Primary School. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

These three areas, the prime areas, are:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

The four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

In planning and guiding what children learn, we reflect on the different rates at which children are developing and adjust our practice appropriately. Three characteristics of effective teaching and learning are:

• playing and exploring - children investigate and experience things, and ‘have a go’

• active learning - children concentrate and keep on trying if they encounter difficulties, and enjoy achievements

• creating and thinking critically - children have and develop their own ideas, make links between ideas, and develop strategies for doing things

Four guiding principles shape practice in our setting.

These are:

• every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured

• children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships

• children learn and develop well in enabling environments with teaching and support from adults, who respond to their individual interests and needs and help them to build their learning over time. Children benefit from a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers.

• the importance of learning and development. Children develop and learn at different rates. 


The EYFS Daisyfield Dimensions document is used to guide the planning and objectives, however professional judgement should also be used, for example sharing ideas based on previous experiences; the knowledge of the children and their development.

Class Pages

Please see the below links for photographs of the EYFS classes.